nutritional facts

Nutritional Information

At Edo Japan we believe in offering meals that are not only delicious but healthier alternatives you can feel good about it. Get the facts on Edo Japan nutrition and learn more about the types of ingredients we use in all of our delicious dishes.

Nutrition Guide (PDF)

Ingredients & Allergies Guide (PDF)

 

Noodlefull Bowl Nutrition and Allergen Guide
Ingredients & Allergies Guide (PDF)

 

food

Edo Japan Nutrition Questions

Are all Edo Japan meals wheat/gluten Free?

No. Based on standard meal recipes, not all Edo Japan menu items are gluten free. With the exception of sushi items containing crab meat, beef and spicy sauce (California Roll, House Roll and Spicy Rolls) or tempura shrimp (Dynamite Roll), all of our current sushi menu items are gluten free. All other meals/menu items, based on our current recipes are prepared using soy sauce (which is wheat based) and our signature Teriyaki sauce (which has the wheat-based soy sauce as a base ingredient). Customers can request that any meal (with rice, as noodles contain gluten), be prepared without the use of soy sauce or Teriyaki sauce due to allergies, but they must be aware that soy sauce and Teriyaki sauce are used regularly on our grill and there is no way to isolate a meal during the cooking process.

Do any Edo Japan menu items contain nuts, peanuts or tree nuts?

No. Edo Japan does not use peanuts or tree nuts of any kind in our meal recipes. However, some ingredients used in meal recipes may have been prepared on shared equipment and in facilities that do have peanuts/tree nuts present in their facilities. For more information, please refer to our Ingredients & Allergens Guide.

Do any Edo Japan menu items contain MSG?

No. There are no menu items in Edo Japan restaurants that have MSG in the ingredient listing; there is however naturally occurring free glutamates in Soy Sauce which is a common ingredient used in our restaurants and is a base ingredient in our Teriyaki Sauce. We use Soy Sauce and our Signature Teriyaki Sauce (which contains Soy Sauce) during the cooking process of all our hot meals and Teriyaki Sauce usually tops all of our hot meals (can be declined at customers request).  Soy Sauce Powder is also present in the Udon Soup we serve but the soup base itself does not have MSG as an ingredient.  The Health Canada link which follows provides further information about MSG and naturally occurring free glutamates:   http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fn-an/securit/addit/msg_qa-qr-eng.php   

Free glutamates can cause adverse reactions in certain people that have sensitivities to MSG.

Based on our current recipes, all menu items containing Teriyaki Sauce or Soy Sauce (all hot meals), would have free glutamates present in the meal. 

Are milk products present in any Edo Japan menu Items?

Yes. While milk products are not present as an ingredient in Edo Japan restaurants, some ingredients used in our restaurants have milk ingredients or have been produced in a facility and on equipment that processes milk products. This is true of our Udon soup base as well as our mayonnaise (used in California Rolls, Spicy Tuna Rolls, Spicy Salmon Rolls, Creamy Scallop Nigiri, and House Roll). Udon noodles, green seasoning, and curry paste have milk or milk products/byproducts listed as ingredients. For more information, please refer to our Ingredients & Allergens Guide.

Are egg or egg products present in any Edo Japan menu items?

Yes. Several menu items may have egg or egg product ingredients present in the menu offering. For more information, please refer to our Ingredients & Allergens Guide.

Are sesame seeds (or derivatives) present in any Edo Japan menu items?

Yes. Gyoza, Gyoza sauce, select sushi items and our spring rolls all have sesame seeds in the ingredient listing. Other products may have them included in their ingredient listing. For more information, please refer to our Ingredients & Allergens Guide.

Are seafood or shellfish present in any Edo Japan menu items?

Yes. Several menu items may have seafood or shellfish present in the menu offering, and seafood and shellfish ingredients are present in restaurants. For more information, please refer to our Ingredients & Allergens Guide.

Are soy ingredients present in any Edo Japan menu items?

Yes. Soy ingredients are present in the majority of Edo Japan menu items and soy ingredients are present in our restaurants. For more information, please refer to our Ingredients & Allergens Guide.

Simply Better
Learn More
In the Community
Learn More
Become a Franchisee
Learn More